Testing Soap Additives

People in soaping groups are always looking for info on how soap additives behave and the right amount to use.  I tested some additives today to see how these perform and  if I want to incorporate them into my soaping work.

My recipe is olive oil 70%, palm kernel oil 23%, and apricot kernel oil 7% with a 6% superfat.   My soaping temperature was about 100 – 105.  Totally awesome recipe and it stays fluid for the 10 – 15 minutes it took me to measure and mix the samples.

Additives tested:

  • Indigo
  • kelp
  • vanilla powder
  • pearly white mica (Brambleberry)
  • honey powder
  • carrot powder
  • anatto powder
  • alkanet
  • marshmallow powder
  • mica dribble
  • control (no additive)

Each additive was a measured 1/4 tsp per (about) 4 oz batter.  The one exception was one kelp at 1/4 tsp and one at 1/2 tsp.   Additives were added dry to batter and whisked in, except a couple that wanted to clump were stick-blended.   The honey powder was mixed with a little water (1/2 tsp) and then batter added and mixed.

My shop is not heated so these will not gell and none are fragranced.  I should have done another round of samples and gelled them; a job for another day!

Here are pics of just poured soap samples.

ADDITIVE TEST 10.17.15ADDITIVE TEST 2, 10.17.15

Tomorrow I’ll unmold and take more pictures.  Then, a four week cure and, after that, I’ll lather up and see how they do when used.

Leave a comment