Unmolding soaps

Fair warning.  If you are not  a soapmaker, this will likely be a bit boring and nerdy.

If you make soap and use individual plastic molds, this may help you.  I use silicone molds and also the Milky Way plastic molds.  The silicone are, hands down, superior for ease of removing soap. I make cold process soap and have struggled with the more intricate plastic molds, trying to unmold soap without damaging it.

I figured it out today!

1.  Make and pour your soap.

2.  I let it sit 24 hours and then into the freezer for a couple hours; it needs to be hard!

3.  Put the mold soap side down on your work surface and use a heat gun on it for a few seconds.  I have had my soap fall right out perfectly intact.  I did 6 or 8 today and all came out perfectly.  In my picture, they are still cold and have condensation on them.  But, perfect! moose and bear blu,purple, gr

Leave a Reply

