The sewing part…

I love creating beautiful, USEFUL things out of a piece of cloth.  I learned to sew when girls had to take Home Ec in school.  I am so glad; what I learned way back then gives me so much satisfaction .  This quilt was  made earlier this year as a gift for a granddaughter graduating from high school.  I loved playing with the colors and different settings for the stars.  I especially love the scrap border.As you can see, I love vibrant colors.

ImageI have been doing smaller quilting projects the last couple years and learning and being inspired to do more through some online classes.

If you haven’t found Craftsy,com, it’s a  bunch of great, fun classes.  Once you buy a class, it’s yours and can be viewed over and over.  Also, the instructors are available for questions, comments, a really helpful feature.  No affiliation, just a satisfied customer.

http://www.craftsy.com

This is a bag I recently made for my daughter.  Next picture is a view of the inside of the bag.

And for fun, and because I love red, here is a quilt top currently in progress.

2 thoughts on “The sewing part…

  1. Norma Jean

    I would love to learn how to quilt, I love the Alaska quilt and enjoyed the pictures of your tomatoes, have two in a screened in porch, but it has been a chilly summer, and they are just blooming now, any ideas on how to make a harvest of some tomatoes this year? Would love to hear from you, my address is snojean@hotmail.com….
    Thanks

    1. Hi, It has been a cool chilly summer! I’m no expert, but can share a few ideas. Per (www.garden.org) “The National Gardening AssociationThe National Gardening Association
      To hasten the ripening of tomatoes, pinch off any flowers and fruit forming and prune off any new growth so the plant sends its energy to ripen the existing fruit.” This was in my facebook feed today and your message in my mail. I put a fan in our hoophouse to keep air circulating and prevent mildew. Tomatoes don’t like it below 60 degrees; what’s the temperature in your porch? Also, are you pollinating the flowers? If it’s screened in, I assume no bees can get in to pollinate the flowers. You can hand pollinate, or give the plants a little shake. Sort of a vibration to pollinate the flowers. Here’s info from the CES on ripening tomatoes. http://www.uaf.edu/files/ces/publications-db/catalog/hec/FNH-00024.pdf There is tons of info at the CES site also. http://www.uaf.edu/ce Good luck. I’d like to know if any of this is helpful. Would love to see pics also.

Leave a Reply

